Anime Boston ’07 [Day 1]

Its 4:58am (Eastern Standard Time) on Friday, April 20th of 2007. Anime Boston starts today. I’m tired even though I slept pretty early. Will update on the con later tonight.

Well back from the first day of AB ’07. I didn’t go to any of the panels (unless you count the Opening Ceremony as something). The Opening Ceremony was pretty good…although the usage of FMA clips was overkill in my opinion. I felt that there needed to be clips other than FMA. Although I have no taste in English dubs in the first place *mwar*. I will give credit to all those who have cosplayed. Saw some really good ones and some that kind of made me want to stab my eyes with a spork. I saw tons of Narutardto, Bleach and Kingdom Hearts cosplayer. Happy to see some School Rumble cosplayers. Haven’t seen any Shakugan no Shana. Saw a few Azumanga, Hellsing, [Games], Sailor Moon cosplayers. Surprisingly enough…I have yet to see ANY! Dragonball cosplayers. I kind of shifted back and forth from the Video Game Room and the Dealer Room. Dealers were cool. Kind of funny how some of the H stuff were pretty blatantly there…luckily I am not of age to buy those…nor will I ever [internets are our friends…like Bit Torrent]. I manage to get my hands on the first volume of (LICENSED!) Shakugan no Shana and Evangelion vol. 1-3. I’m thinking about buying the rest of Eva since it has been one of my favorite series of all time (thank the lord for Gainax’s fucked up minds). I’m trying to find Melody of Oblivion if possible and Vol. 4 of School Rumble. I’ll check back at the dealers tomorrow. I ate some Sushi (because we all know Sushi is a must at every Japanese related event). Today was just full of walking and kind of wondering. Regardless of the fact that I did not participate in any of the panels I still enjoyed myself seeing the crazy costumes people had and just the overall mass of ‘Otaku’ there. The video game room was pretty packed at some points and dead others. It kind of spiked back and forth from populated to somewhat empty. I signed up for the Melty Blood Tournament set to run tomorrow due to the fact that Naruto Shippuuden: Accel is set for 18+ and I rather not do Guilty Gear and Smash is filled. Well until tomorrow I’m off!

~Kevin~

Leave a Reply

